Advising Overview

Helpful Advising Tools

Who is my Advisor?

1.  Are you a Music Major or Minor?

  • Major, skip to question 2
  • Minor, skip to question 4

2.  Are you enrolled in MUS 353 or 776 or 450? Have you ever enrolled in MUS 353 or 776 or 450?

  • If yes, skip to question 3
  • If no, skip to question 4

3.  Is your teacher’s name listed in the above table?

  • If yes, your teacher is your advisor
  • If no, skip to question 4

4.  Refer to the “last name begins with” list above to determine your advisor.

Advising for Bachelor of Arts

Advising for Bachelor of Music

The documents on this website/webpage might not be fully accessible to persons with disabilities. We are working to fix these accessibility barriers. If you experience difficulty in accessing this content, please contact the School of Music by email at music@sfsu.edu and we will provide you with accessible alternatives.

Advisors
Your Last Name Your Advisor Focus
A Zak Grafilo, zgasq@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
B Fred Lifsitz, flasq@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
C-E Roger Woodward, woodward@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
F-H Jassen Todorov, todorov@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
I Wendell Hanna, whanna@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
J Zak Grafilo, zgasq@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
K Fred Lifsitz, flasq@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
L David Samuel dsamuel@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
M Sandy Walsh-Wilson, alexww@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
N-P Wendell Hanna, whanna@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
R David Samuel dsamuel@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
S Hafez Modirzadeh, hafezmo@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
T-V Sandy Walsh-Wilson, alexww@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
W-Z David Xiques, dxiques@sfsu.edu Undergraduate
All Dr. Ben Sabey, sabey@sfsu.edu Graduate

All School of Music majors and minors are assigned to a faculty advisor. If you do not know who your advisor is please contact Dr. Ginwala, (cginwala@sfsu.edu)

  • When BM major completes MUS 221, 222 AND 223, they automatically satisfy C1 (Arts) 
  • When BM completes any two of these MUS 550, 551 and 552 , you automatically satisfy UD-C (Arts) 
Two people working and writing together

Undergraduate Advising

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester:

  1. an advisor in the major and
  2. a general education and university requirements adviser in the Advising Resource Center (ARC) for LCA

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduation cap on person with hand up

Graduate Advising

Graduate Coordinator, Dr. Ben Sabeysabey@sfsu.edu

The Division of Graduate Studies offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation. Visit the Graduate Advising Center

Man and Woman sitting together outside looking at paper and smiling

General Education and University Requirements

Advising Resource Center 'The ARC' logo

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Additional Resources